Getting a Speeding Ticket in North Dakota

North Dakota speeding laws are similar to those of other neighboring states. The basic speeding law and absolute speed limits are similar to all others. If you are driving over the speed limit, you are breaking the basic speeding law. Where there are signs posted, you must obey those speed limits.

Consequences of Speeding Tickets in North Dakota

It can be daunting to get a speeding ticket in a state that is not your home state. But, you will likely face the same types of penalties for a speeding ticket even if it is out of state. For example, you likely face fines, DMV points against your license, and possibly a license suspension.

North Dakota’s speed limits are as follows:

  1. 20 mph in school zones
  2. 25 mph on a highway in business, resident, or park districts
  3. 55 mph on two-lane roads
  4. 65 mph paved two-lane roads
  5. 70 mph on divided multi-lane highways
  6. 75 mph on interstate highways

If you exceed these speed limits, consequences arise. Here are the fines you face for each violation:

  1. $5 fine for 1 to 5 mph over the limit.
  2. $5 fine (+$1 per mph over) for 6 to 10 mph over the limit. For example. If you were driving six miles per hour over the speed limit, you face the initial five dollar fine, as well as an additional six dollar fine for each mile per hour you drove over the limit. This would be a total of an $11 fine.
  3. $10 fine (+$1 per mph over) for 11 to 15 mph over the limit
  4. $15 fine (+$2 per mph over) for 16 to 20 mph over the limit.
  5. $25 fine (+3 per mph over) for 21 to 25 mph over the limit.
  6. $40 fine (+3 per mph over) for 26 to 35 mph over the limit.
  7. $70 fine (+$3 per mph over) for 36 to 45 mph over the limit.
  8. $100 fine (+$5 per mph over) for 46 mph or greater over the limit.

The point system comes into play when basic speed law or absolute speed limits are violated by more than five mph. The points vary based on how much over the limit you were going. The more points you receive, the more likely you are to have a suspension on your license.

Fighting vs. Paying the Ticket

You have two basic options if you have gotten a speeding ticket – pay it or fight it. If you pay the ticket, you obviously have to pay the fine and you could deal with some of these additional consequences. If you take your ticket to court, you might be able to have the violation dismissed or reduced. However, taking a ticket to court is a complex task. It is best to consult an attorney before taking this route.

How to Get Help

If you or someone you know has been pulled over in North Dakota and needs help with their case, call our office so we can find the right attorney to help with your situation. We would be happy to find a North Dakota attorney for you.

Submit your ticket & get it taken care of now!

You can take care of your ticket in minutes.

Quick Information Guide