Driving without a license is against the law in each state, including Connecticut. If you’ve received a ticket for this crime, it is important to know the penalties that you will go up against. You can find this information and more on this page.
Forgetting Your License
At some point in their lives, most people are guilty of driving without a license; but not because their license has been suspended or they never obtained a license. Many people fall victim to forgetting their wallet or license somewhere and driving without it. If this happens, in most situations, no harm will come to the driver. He or she will simply correct the mistake and avoid forgetting the license in the future.
However, if you forgot your license and are driving without it when you are pulled over for a driving infraction, the police will realize that you have been driving without a license. This is not a serious offense, but it could result in a minor ticket. In most cases, a police officer will give the driver 24-hours to produce his or her driver’s license as proof that it exists. If this can be done, some police officers may choose to drop the ticket against the driver altogether. If the ticket is not dropped, you don’t have to panic because it will likely just be a small fine. Also, if you wish to fight this ticket, you might be able to get it dropped with the help of a lawyer.
Driving With Suspended License or Failing To Receive A License
If you are caught driving without a license because it has been suspended, revoked, or you never obtained a license in the first place, the consequences can be much more severe. You face significant fines, jail time, and the further suspension of your license. Connecticut General Statute that refers to this issue is CGS §§ 14-215(a), (b), and 14-111(b), PA 05-215, §§ 2, 4: Operating vehicle after being refused a license or with suspended or revoked license or right to operate. The penalties for violating this law for the first time include:
- A fine of $150-$200.
- A jail sentence of up to 90 days.
- A suspension of your driver’s license for one year.
If caught violating this law a second or subsequent time, you face the following penalties:
- A fine of $200-$600.
- A prison sentence of up to a year.
- A suspension of your driver’s license for two years.
- An additional fine of up to $500 or 100 hours of community service.
A third or subsequent offense results in a 90 day mandatory jail sentence. This means that even if you hire a lawyer, they cannot plead your jail sentence down past 90 days.
If you have been caught driving without a license, now is the time to defend yourself. By contacting our office, you can discuss your personal situation, get your questions answered, and begin building a defense to the charge. For more information, please contact us today.
Related Search Terms
- I got a ticket for driving without a license
- Driving without a license
- Driving without proof of license
- What happens if you get caught driving without license?
- Penalty for driving with a suspended license in CT
- CT license suspension laws
- Penalty for driving without a license in CT
- Reasons for license suspension in Connecticut
- What happens if you get pulled over with a suspended license in CT