Connecticut motor vehicles should not be operated by a person unless that person registers with the Commissioner. An infraction against Connecticut General Statute Section 14-12 occurs if:
- A person registers a motor vehicle that they do not operate or own.
- A person operates or allows the operation of a motor vehicle on the highway when it is not registered.
- A Connecticut resident uses a motor vehicle that has marker (license) plates issued by another state. A resident has 60 days to change their car’s marker plates to Connecticut plates.
- A person fails to renew the registration of a vehicle before it expires. A person has 30 days to renew the registration of the vehicle after it expires.
The penalty for a resident to have marker plates on their car that are not Connecticut plates is a fine of $150-$300. If a person gets caught with an expired registration for their vehicle, the penalty consists of a fine and the potential suspension of their license. In most cases, you will face a fine and the potential of having your license suspended if you are charged with driving without registration; however, there are defenses to this charge. To learn more, contact our office as soon as you can.
Related Search Terms
- Unregistered vehicle on private property in CT
- CT law driving without registration
- Pulled over no registration CT
- Driving unregistered vehicle CT
- Penalty for driving with expired registration
- Expired registration ticket dismissal
- How long can you drive with expired tags?
- Driving unregistered vehicle
- Driving an unregistered vehicle with insurance
- What happens if you get pulled over without registration?