Possession of Alcohol by a Minor in Connecticut 30-89 Violations
Despite the fact that the legal drinking age in America is 21, many teenagers choose to partake in alcohol consumption. This presents several problems to our society, including drunk driving by minors. Drunk driving begins with possession and consumption of alcohol. In Connecticut in particular, this is a growing issue. Possession of alcohol by a minor is a violation of state law. So is selling alcohol to minors or buying alcohol for minors.
Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
While possession of alcohol by a minor is not a crime, it is an infraction in Connecticut. The relevant Connecticut law can be found under Connecticut General Statutes 30-89. Violating this code can result in a fine of as much as $500. If caught for possession by a minor, the police will issue you a ticket, much like they would if you are caught speeding. Just like for a speeding ticket, the ticket explains how you can plead. You can plead guilty and send in the fee, or you can plead not guilty and fight the infraction in court.
What many people don’t know is that if they plead guilty to the ticket, they face additional penalties. This includes a license suspension and higher car insurance rates. The license suspension will last for 30 days. If alcohol is found in the minor’s car, the license suspension will last for 60 days. If you are caught driving with alcohol in your car and you don’t have a driver’s license, you will have to wait an additional 150 days to get your license once you become eligible.
Many people are afraid to fight the ticket, but what they don’t realize is that even if they around found guilty by the court, this will not result in a criminal conviction.
Fighting a Possession of Alcohol by a Minor Charge
You have nothing to lose by fighting a possession of alcohol by a minor charge. Please contact our office for assistance with this process. We can put you in touch with our lawyers who have handled alcohol, juvenile cases, and motor vehicle cases.