Each state has laws about driving accidents. States ask drivers to prove their financial ability to pay for damages they cause to others. When driving, you might cause an accident that damages other property or people. Most people comply with this rule by buying auto insurance. But, some drivers are uninsured. They either choose to ignore this obligation or they cannot afford to pay for auto insurance. For lack of insurance, you face certain penalties. Learn about these penalties here.
As you might know from TV, a police officer will ask for your personal information if you get pulled over. The officer will ask for your driver’s license, insurance, and registration information. If you can’t provide insurance information to the police officer, this is a crime. This means that in addition to other offense you might charged with (ex. speeding, texting while driving, etc.) you will also get a ticket for driving without insurance.
For the average driver, the penalty for this crime is a fine that can range from $100-$1,000. But, if you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you face a Class D felony charge. This is the case if you knowingly operate a commercial motor vehicle without insurance. This could result in a penalty of five years in prison, a $5,000 fine, or both. Also, your registration and license can get suspended. For a first offense, your license will get suspended for a month. For a second or subsequent offense, your license will get suspended for six months.
Failure to Maintain
There is another crime related to failing to maintain insurance. This is Connecticut General Statute § 38a-37, Property and Casualty Insurance. Failure to maintain this type of insurance is a Class C misdemeanor in Connecticut. If convicted, you face a jail sentence of three months, a $500 fine, or both. If you have car insurance, but you drive without your insurance card on you, you will get a ticket. You will have to pay a fine of $35 for the first offense and $50 for any subsequent offense.
If you do not have car insurance, the police might find out about this issue. This is especially possible if you get involved in a motor vehicle accident. If you are responsible for the accident, you are also responsible for paying compensation. You have to pay for any property that you have destroyed or injuries that you have caused. Without insurance, you will have to pay these expenses out-of-pocket. Also, you could get charged with a driving without insurance crime. If this happens, you face the penalties mentioned above.
Compared to other traffic offenses, the consequences for driving without insurance are significant. If charged with any of the driving without insurance offense you should protect yourself. You can do this by hiring a motor vehicle violation lawyer. At Mr. Speeding Ticket™, we have defended these types of cases and can do the same for you. Contact us today to put us to work on your defense.