If you have recently gotten a speeding ticket in the state of Michigan, you probably don’t know the process and penalties that you face. This is especially true if you are an out-of-state driver. For this reason, I’ve written this article. This article talks about some of the steps that you will have to go through if you receive a speeding ticket in Michigan. In addition, I talk about the penalties that you might face. Be sure to read on for this information.
Michigan Speeding Ticket
If pulled over for speeding in Michigan, a police officer will give you a speeding ticket. This ticket should list important information about your charge. First, it will state the exact charges that you face. It should also have information about the specific penalties that you face. If you have to appear in court, this information will be on your ticket. You can refer to the ticket when determining what courthouse to go to and when.
Cost of Speeding Ticket
In Michigan, fines for speeding get determined by the district where you were pulled over. There is no set fine throughout the state. Make sure that you refer to your ticket in order to determine what your fine is and how you can pay it. If you are unsure about this information or you lost your speeding ticket, you should contact the district court. They can give you the information that you need.
While the cost of the fine will vary, you will probably face these other costs if charged with a speeding ticket:
- $90 for speeding 1-5 miles per hour over the speed limit.
- $95 for failure to signal.
- $100 for an improper U-turn.
- $180 for failure to stop for a school bus.
- $155 for speeding 26 miles per hour over the speed limit. This includes and additional $4 for every additional mile.
Just as in Connecticut, Michigan has a point system for drivers who commit driving offenses. Point assessments happen for every traffic ticket in Michigan. Driving 1-5 miles per hour over the speed limit is a two point violation. But, driving 26 or more miles per hour over the speed limit is a four point violation. Points stay on your driving record for two years after the date of your conviction. Some points can be removed earlier if you participate in a basic driver improvement course. You can only take this course once throughout your life.
You can fight a Michigan speeding ticket, even as an out-of-state driver. If this is an option that you would like to pursue, you should consider hiring an attorney to assist you. For more information, please contact my office.
Related Search Terms
- Michigan speeding ticket points
- Michigan speeding ticket no points
- Fighting a speeding ticket Michigan
- Failure to yield accident ticket Michigan
- How to pay an out of state speeding ticket
- Out of state speeding ticket question answers
- What happens if you don’t pay a speeding ticket out of state?
- Out of state speeding ticket traffic school
- Michigan traffic violation codes
- Speeding ticket cost