In Connecticut, drivers who have received a certain number of points on their driver’s licenses or drivers who have committed certain motor vehicle violations must complete a driver retraining class. In many cases, a driver’s license gets suspended until they complete the driver retraining process. The driver retraining course seeks to keep all drivers on the road safe. You can learn more about driver retraining here.
In Connecticut, certain drivers have to take a driver retraining class. Drivers who have a certain number of points on their driver’s licenses fall in this category. Drivers who have committed certain motor vehicle violations also have to take this course. Often, a driver’s license gets suspended until they complete the driver retraining process. The driver retraining course is designed to keep all drivers on the road safe.
Drivers have to take driver retraining when:
- A driver has two Connecticut State Law Section 14-111g(a) violations against them. This driver has to be under 24 to fall in this category. These violations must include one of two violations. These violations are the moving violation or a driving suspension violation.
- A driver has three Connecticut State Law Section 14-111g(a) violations against them. This driver must be 25 or older. These violations must include a suspension violation or moving violation.
- A CDL driver convicted of going faster than 65 miles per hour in in work zone on the highway.
- A driver convicted of going faster than 75 miles per hour in a work zone on the highway.
Enrolling in Driver Retraining
The DMV might ask that you enroll in a driver retraining course. If this happens, it is up to you to enroll in the course. To enroll in this class, you have to:
- Pay a $60 entrance fee.
- Contact a driver retraining vender. A list of these vendors is available below.
- A Better Connecticut (1-866-236-6989).
- Driver Education Station (1-800-381-8729).
- National Traffic Safety Institute (1-866-455-6874).
- The National Safety Council (1-800-210-6407).
If you complete the program before the date imposed by the DMV, your license will be reinstated, pending the electronic confirmation of your completion of the retraining. If you don’t complete the program by the date imposed by the DMV, you have to pay a fee. A $175 fee must go to the DMV if you would like your license reinstated. You can send this fee to:
State of Connecticut
Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Services Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2525
Be sure to include your personal information in any correspondence with the DMV. This includes your name, mailing address, and date of birth. Until you get notice from the DMV that your license is restored, you can’t operate a motor vehicle.
Once you complete the driver retraining program, you can’t commit a new moving violation. You need to go the next 36 months without receiving any new suspension or moving violations. If another violation occurs, the DMV will give you a 30 day license suspension for a first offense. For a second offense, you face a 60 day license suspension. For a third offense, you will receive a 90 day suspension.
If you have to take the driver retraining program, we can help you coordinate this. Contact our office today for more information.