It is hard to keep track of all the new laws and changes that occur from year-to-year. Many times the public is not exposed to new laws that can and will affect the lives of many Connecticut residents. Below is a list of new laws, relating to motor vehicles and driving, that went into effect as of January, 2019.
Auto Insurance Laws
First, a new law has been passed on electronic proof of auto insurance. As of 2019, drivers are now able to present their auto insurance electronically, on their cell phones or tablets for police officers. Many insurance apps have auto insurance information on the app, so it will no longer be a problem for drivers who have lost or misplaced their paper proof of insurance. Nor will drivers have to go searching around in their glove boxes when nervously sitting in front of law enforcement.
Second, there is a new law on the minimum amount of auto insurance. The minimum amounts of coverage for auto insurance in Connecticut were previously $20,000 per person in a crash, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage from a car crash. This new law has increased these minimum amounts for liability coverage. Now, the minimums are $25,000 per person in a crash, $50,000 for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage from car crashes.
Transportation Company Laws
Third, Uber, Lyft, and other transportation network companies must now perform background checks on their drivers, and institute requirements for drivers’ insurance. These companies are also required to register with the Department of Transportation. Transportation network companies are expanding and becoming a huge part of the communities in Connecticut. Now, Uber and Lyft users can feel more at ease knowing that there are mandatory background checks done on drivers. This new law also allows taxi companies to use apps as well in order to calculate rates for service.
As of 2019, learner’s permits will no longer expire when the driver turns 18. The law now stops these permits from expiring, and now learner’s permits will expire two years after the permit was issued to the person, or on the day that the driver obtains a driver’s license.
School Bus Laws
Lastly, Connecticut school bus drivers are now required to learn how to administer life saving drugs during allergic reactions. School bus drivers will all be trained on how to help a child who is having an allergic reaction, and how to inject an EpiPen. This means that school bus drivers will be immune from lawsuits involving the administration of drugs during an allergic reaction.
Be sure to keep these new changes in mind, and check out the Tribuna for a list of the top 35 Connecticut laws that took effect in 2019. If you received a motor vehicle ticket in Connecticut, give us a call at 203-567-6474.