Speeding laws and penalties in Virginia tend to be stricter than in other states. Have you gotten a speeding ticket while driving in the state of Virginia? If so, continue reading to learn about the fines, penalties, and points system for speeding in Virginia. This information is especially useful for out-of-state drivers who are not familiar with the laws and penalties for speeding in Virginia.
Virginia Speeding Penalties and Fines
In Virginia, the consequences for speeding will depend on where you received your ticket. Most tickets will be about $6 for every mile per hour over the speed limit you were going. For example, if the speed limit was 25 miles per hour, and you were driving 35 miles per hour, you face a $60 fine. If you are in a school zone or work zone, this will be $7 per mile per hour over the limit. So, if you are in a school or work zone where the limit is 25 miles per hour and you are driving 35 mph, you face a $70 fine. If you are in a residential area, this rate will increase to $8 per mile per hour over the limit. If you are in a residential area where the speed limit is 25 miles per hour, and you are driving 35 miles per hour, you face a fine of $80. In Virginia, you can also be penalized for driving too slow and you can be given a $30 fine. This fine increases depending on how many times you have been charged with driving too slowly.
Reckless Driving in Virginia
Reckless driving charges in Virginia are given out to drivers that drive over 20 miles per hour over the speed limit. These charges result in a fine you are required to pay for three years. If this is your first reckless driving ticket, you can expect to be charged with a misdemeanor and have a $350 fine. If this is your second reckless driving charge, you can expect to be charged with a felony and be required to pay $1,000 annually for three years. As you can see, the penalties for reckless driving in Virginia are severe.
Virginia’s Points System
In Virginia, there is a points system. If you are caught speeding, you could get anywhere from three to six demerit points on your record. Too many demerit points on your driving record in a period of two years could result in your license being revoked or suspended. It could also result in having to take a court-ordered safe driving class.
How to Get Help
If you face a speeding ticket in Virginia, you need to decide if you will pay the ticket or fight it in court. There are pros and cons to both approaches, especially if you are an out-of-state driver. In this situation, it is a good idea to contact an attorney. A motor vehicle violations attorney can review your situation and help you determine the best course of action. If you would like to speak with an attorney, contact our office today. We can help you make the right decision for your situation.