Have you gotten a speeding ticket in West Virginia? If so, continue reading this article to learn about the laws, penalties, fines and points system in West Virginia. Whether you are a West Virginia resident or an out-of-state driver, it is a good idea to familiarize yourself with these laws and penalties if you have recently gotten a West Virginia speeding ticket.
West Virginia Speeding Laws
There are two types of speeding laws in the state of West Virginia. West Virginia follows an absolute speeding limit law and a basic speeding law. An absolute speed limit means that if you drive any faster than the posted limit, you could get a ticket. The absolute speed limit depends on where you are. For example, it is 15 miles per hour in school zones when children are present, 25 miles per hour in business and residential districts, and 55 miles per hour on most open country highways. So, for example, if you are driving 16 miles per hour in a school zone when children are present, you could technically receive a speeding ticket. Even though this is so close to the limit, there is a chance you could face a ticket under the absolute speeding limit law.
The basic speeding law means that in West Virginia, you cannot drive at a speed that is “greater than reasonable and prudent under existing conditions and the actual and potential hazards.” Things that could change the conditions of the roads include the time of day, weather, or road conditions.
Speeding Ticket Fines and Penalties
The fines for speeding tickets in West Virginia depend on how many violations you have had. For your first violation, you could face up to $100 in fines. For your second violation you could face up to $200 in fines. For your 3rd violation you could face up to $500 in fines and jail time depending on the speed. These fines could be higher in school zones.
In West Virginia, there is also a points system. You receive points for traffic violations and too many points will result in suspension.
Reckless Driving in West Virginia
If you face a ticket for a speeding violation, there is a chance that you could face a reckless driving charge as well. A reckless driving charge is actually considered a criminal charge, unlike most other motor vehicle violations. It could lead to up to 90 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
How to Get Help
If you face a speeding ticket in West Virginia, you have the option of paying the ticket or fighting it in court. It is a good idea to consider both options and talk to a lawyer about them before making a decision. If you would like to speak with a lawyer, contact our office. We can put you in touch with a West Virginia motor vehicle violation lawyer. We are happy to help.