Getting a Speeding Ticket in South Carolina

Many people travel to the beaches in South Carolina, especially during the warm summer months. But beach visitors and other visitors to the state are not always familiar with local speeding practices and laws. If you were traveling in South Carolina and received a speeding ticket, you can learn more here. This article will discuss the penalties put in place for violating speed limits.

Speed Limits in South Carolina

There are two sets of speeding laws within South Carolina. One of these is absolute speed limits and the other is basic speeding law. Both of these sets of laws deny the right to drive at an unreasonable speed under the conditions that exist.

The speed limits in South Carolina include:

  • 70 mph on interstate highways
  • 60 mph on multilane divided highways
  • 55 mph in other areas or highways
  • 40 mph on unpaved roads
  • 30 mph in urban districts

The absolute speed limit law is a simple concept. It means that if you go one mile per hour over the posted speed limit, you have violated the law. Police officers can give you a ticket for just driving one or two miles per hour over the limit. But there are ways to defend yourself in court. Some options include:

  • Questioning the accuracy of the speed tests the officer used. Especially if you were only alleged to be driving a few miles per hour over the speed limit, an inaccurate radar gun or speed test could mean that the ticket is dropped for you.  
  • Claiming that speeding was necessary for emergency purposes.
  • Claiming the officer mixed up the cars and it wasn’t you.

You can be pulled over for unsafe driving even if you are going the maximum speed limit in South Carolina. If the conditions of the road or traffic require you to drive at a slower rate to maintain safety, you are required to participate in the slower moving vehicles.

Penalties for South Carolina Speeding

If you have exceeded the speed limit for the first time, you can expect a fine between $15-$200, jail time up to 30 days, and a suspended license for three to six months. In many cases, a first offense speeding ticket will not result in such severe penalties. But, it is a good idea to consult a lawyer about your situation.

Points can be assigned to your license if you have been pulled over for speeding. After accumulating many points, there are options to take away your license or suspend it for a number of months. These privileges can be taken away by the government based upon your actions so it is important to hire a lawyer to help with your situation. Contact our office for more information on what to do if you find yourself or someone you know in this scenario. We can help you find a motor vehicle violation attorney who can protect your rights.

Submit your ticket & get it taken care of now!

You can take care of your ticket in minutes.

Quick Information Guide