Wagering, Speed Record Statutes and Penalties in Connecticut

Section 14-224 of Connecticut’s General Statutes deals with evasion of responsibility and racing. Here, you can learn about this statute and what it means for you as a driver. Also, you can learn about consequences of this infraction. I will talk about speeding and wagering on speeding in this article. This information can help you understand what this charge means for you. Also, you can learn how to fight the charge to the best of your abilities.

Statute Subsections

Connecticut General Statutes discuss the wagering and speed record infractions. The first two subsections of section 14-224 deal with the proper protocol for reporting an accident. These sections state that if you get involved in a motor vehicle accident, it is your responsibility to help any injured parties. You also have to provide your personal information. This information includes your name, address, registration number, and license number. If you cannot provide this information to the injured party because they got too injured, you must report it to the police. Alternatively, you could provide it to a witness of the accident.

In any case, you need to establish a way to get in touch with the victim. In the future, they might try to contact you for more information on the accident. You also might become the subject of a personal injury case. While you probably don’t want this to happen, you still have to provide this information.

Section 14-224(c) focuses on wagering and racing on Connecticut’s highways. This section states that no one should operate a motor vehicle to race, wager, or make a speed record. According to this statute, it is against the law to:

  • Have a motor vehicle for the purposes of racing or other events prohibited under this law.
  • Act as a starter of a race/prohibited event.
  • Act as a timekeeper of a race/prohibited event.
  • Judge a race/prohibited event.
  • Act as a spectator of a race/prohibited event.
  • Wager on a race/prohibited event.

Consequences

If charged with wagering or speed record in Connecticut, you face consequences. A first time offender faces a fine of $75-$600. You also face a jail sentence of up to one year. For any additional  offenses, you face a fine of $100-$1,000 and a jail sentence of up to one year. You could also have points assessed against your driver’s license by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Four points could be assessed for each wagering conviction you receive. Having this many points assessed against your license could affect your ability to drive.

If you face a wagering or speed record charge under section 14-224(c), you need to defend yourself. The best way to do this is by contacting a motor vehicle violation lawyer in Connecticut. At Mr. Speeding Ticket, we handle motor vehicle violations every day. Contact our office today to schedule a free consultation in which we can discuss your situation.

Submit your ticket & get it taken care of now!

You can take care of your ticket in minutes.

Quick Information Guide

All articles loaded
No more articles to load