A speeding ticket in Maryland is not a pleasant experience. But, you can make the situation easier for yourself by learning more about this process. Knowing your options, what you are up against, and what to do to protect your rights can help you through this experience. You can get this information here.
In the state of Maryland, there are two types of traffic violations that you might get. The first is a must appear violation. If you get this type of violation, you have to appear in court to have your case handled. Usually, must appear violations include serious traffic violations, such as driving under the influence.
The other type of traffic violation is a payable violation. The payable violation allows you to plead guilty and pay the fine without appearing in court. If you decide to use this option, you won’t have to appear in court.
There are three options that you have when it comes to speeding tickets in Maryland. The first is to plead guilty to the ticket and pay it, as I have already mentioned. If you decide to pay the fine, you can find the information about what you owe on your traffic ticket. In addition, the charge gets noted on your driving history. The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) in Maryland will determine how many points get assessed against your driver’s license. Keep in mind that getting points on your license can increase your auto insurance. You can pay the fine online, at the courthouse, by phone, or by mail.
Another pleading option is to plead guilty with an exception. This means that you accept the charges, but you explain to a judge that you should get reduced penalties. This is usually due to extenuating circumstances. For example, in the case of speeding, if you were driving too fast because of an emergency, this might cause a judge to reduce your fine. Make sure that you request a waiver to plead guilty with an exception within 30 days of getting your ticket.
Finally, you can plead not guilty to the charges and defend your case in court. Again, you have to make this request within 30 days of getting your ticket. Also, you will have to appear in court if you want to try and fight the charge. It could take weeks for the court to set a date for you to appear before a judge. This can be difficult for your if you live out of state. It might not be be practical for you to return to Maryland for a court date to fight a fine. You should discuss this option with a motor vehicle attorney to determine if it is worth it.
It is a good idea to discuss all of your options with a motor vehicle violations attorney. An attorney can make sure that you make the right decision for your situation. For more help, please contact our office. We can help you review your options and make the right decision. Contact us today for a free consultation.