You’ve gotten a speeding ticket in Georgia – now what? Should you fight the ticket? Should you just pay the fine and try to move on? What will happen to your license? And, if you are an out-of-state driver, how should you handle this situation? These are all questions that might be running through your mind if you get a speeding ticket in Georgia. Here, you can learn some specifics about getting a speeding ticket in Georgia, the penalties that you face, and what to do next.
How To Plead
Speeding is a common driving infraction in each state, but each state handles it slightly differently. Especially if you are an out-of-state driver, you might not know the specifics of a Georgia speeding ticket. Like in other states, you can plead nolo contendere (no contest) or not guilty. If you plead no contest, you just pay the fine and accept the other penalties for this infraction. But, if you plead not guilty, you can take your case to traffic court. Whether you plead no contest or not guilty, you need to respond to your traffic ticket. Failing to do so will result in greater penalties, even if you live out of state.
If you are a resident of another state, such as Connecticut, pleading not guilty to your speeding ticket might be difficult. This is because it means that you will have to appear in court. Traveling back to Georgia for your court date can be more expensive and time-consuming than it is worth. You should talk to a lawyer to figure out what the best course of action is for your situation.
A Georgia speeding ticket is unique in its penalties. Like many other states, the penalties for speeding in Georgia are a fine and points assessed against a person’s driver’s license. But, the specific fine and points are unique. The average Georgia speeding ticket is $145-324. But, the ticket will depend on the county that you are charged in. The fine can be much higher depending on your personal situation. The points assessed against your license will also depend on the speed that you were going.
- For 15-18 miles per hour over the speed limit, 2 points will be assessed against your license.
- For 19-23 miles per hour over the speed limit, 3 points will be assessed against your license.
- 24-33 miles per hour over the speed limit, 4 points will be assessed against your license.
- For 34 or more miles per hour over the speed limit, 6 points will be assessed against your license.
If you still have questions about your Georgia speeding ticket, you should consider talking to a motor vehicle lawyer such as myself. This can make sure that you do what is best for your situation. To set up a free consultation with me, contact my office at 203-567-6474.