If you get a speeding ticket in Wyoming, you will most likely face penalties and fines. Especially if you are an out-of-state driver pulled over in Wyoming, you probably don’t know all of the rules and penalties for driving in this state. Some laws can differ from state to state, such as speed limit laws. Penalties can also differ. If you need to learn more about Wyoming speeding laws now that you face a ticket, continue reading. You can learn about the two speeding laws in Wyoming and the fines and penalties.
Just like many other states, Wyoming has two speeding laws: absolute limits and the basic speeding law.
Many states, including Wyoming, use something called the absolute limit law. It means that if you go over the posted speed at all, you could get a speeding ticket. Even if you were only a few miles per hour over the limit, technically you could receive a ticket. The absolute speed limits in Wyoming depend on where you were driving. For example, if you are driving in a school zone, the speed is lower than if you are driving on an interstate.
Basic Speeding Law
There is also something called the basic speeding law in Wyoming. The basic speeding law in Wyoming states that a driver cannot drive “greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing.” The conditions that could affect the appropriate driving speed are the weather, road conditions, or time of day. For example, if the roads were covered in ice, you would have to drive slower than if the roads were clear. As you can see, the basic speeding law can be open to interpretation depending on the conditions of the road.
Fines and Penalties
In Wyoming, your first speeding ticket can result in a $200 fine or 20 days in jail. Your second violation could result in a $300 fine or 30 days in jail. Your third violation could result in $500 in fines and six months in jail. One factor that could make your speeding ticket fine increase is traveling 10 miles over the speed limit in a school zone. As you can see, these penalties can be severe.
In some circumstances, your speeding ticket could result in a reckless driving charge as well. A reckless driving conviction could result in six months in jail and $750 in fines. Reckless driving is serious and if you face this charge, it is a good idea to contact an attorney to help you.
How To Get Help
If you face a speeding ticket or a reckless driving ticket in Wyoming, it is a good idea to contact a motor vehicle violations attorney. Such a lawyer can review your situation and help you determine the best way to proceed. For further assistance, contact our office. We are happy to put you in touch with someone who can help.