Vermont can be a beautiful state to drive in, no matter the season. But while driving in Vermont, you could be stopped by the police for speeding down those country roads. If this is the case, there are some things that you should understand about how Vermont treats its speeding tickets, especially if you are an out-of-state driver. Vermont has two different types of laws regarding speeding. Continue reading this article to learn more about the types of laws regarding speeding and the fines and penalties for speeding in Vermont.
Vermont Speeding Laws
There are two types of speeding laws in Vermont. One type is called absolute speed limits. This means that driving over the speed limit, no matter the circumstance or speed, is against the law.
The second type of speeding law that Vermont has is the basic speeding law. The basic speeding law says that drivers cannot drive at a speed that is greater than “is reasonable and prudent under existing conditions, having regard for the actual potential hazards then existing.” This means that you have to drive at a safe speed at all times. Circumstances that could change what is considered a “safe speed” include time of day, condition of the roads, and weather.
Speeding Ticket Fines and Penalties in Vermont
If you are caught speeding in Vermont, you face a few penalties. One of these penalties is a fine. Your fine will depend on how many miles per hour over the speed limit you were driving. There is a formula in Vermont for how to calculate your fine for speeding. Speeders will have to pay a $47 surcharge plus a fine that is $5 or $8 per mile per hour over the speed limit plus 15% of the total. This fine could increase if you are in a roadwork zone. As you can see, this formula means that fines can add up quickly and you could face heavy charges for speeding in Vermont.
If you are caught going 60 miles per hour and you are over the speed limit by at least 30 miles per hour, then you could face heavy fines or even jail time.
Speeding tickets also usually result in points added to your driving record. Typically, a speeding ticket adds two points.
How to Get Help
If you face a speeding ticket in the state of Vermont, it is a good idea to consult with a motor vehicle violations attorney. This type of lawyer can review your situation with you and help you determine the best way to proceed. In some cases, it is a good idea to fight the speeding ticket in court. An attorney can navigate this process and possibly get you reduced charges or have the ticket dismissed. Of course, this will depend on your individual situation. If you are interested in talking with an attorney about your situation, contact our office. We can put you in touch with a Vermont lawyer who can answer any questions that you have.