Getting a Speeding Ticket in Utah

If you happen to receive a ticket while driving in Utah, you face the consequences that that state imposes. There are fines and suspensions that can be a result of speeding in Utah, but it all depends on how much you were driving over the limit you were. Utah speeding tickets are infractions and a person who has a speeding ticket will not serve jail time. Continue reading to learn more about the laws, penalties and points system for speeding tickets in Utah. This information is especially useful if you are an out-of-state driver and you are not familiar with Utah laws.

Utah Speeding Laws

Utah’s speeding laws require that all drivers drive under the posted speed limit and that all drivers “operate their cars at a speed that’s reasonable and prudent.” Time of day, road conditions, and weather could affect the reasonableness or prudence of driving at a certain speed.

Utah’s Speeding Penalties

If you get a speeding ticket in Utah, you will face fines and points against your license depending on how fast you were going. Here is a list of fines and points based on the speed.

  • One to 10 miles per hour over the speed limit
    • $120 fine
    • 35 demerit points
  • 11 to 15 miles per hour over the speed limit
    • $150 fine
    • 55 demerit points
  • 16 to 20 miles per hour over the speed limit
    • $200 fine
    • 55 demerit points
  • 21 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit
    • $270 fine
    • 75 demerit points
  • 26 to 30 miles per hour over the speed limit
    • $370 fine
    • 75 demerit points
  • 31+ miles per hour over the speed limit
    • $470 (plus an additional $10 for every mile above 31)
    • 75 demerit points

Utah’s Points System

Utah’s Points System has two tiers. The first tier is directed at those under 21 years of age. It says that if you accumulate 70 or more points within three years, the Drivers License Division will summon the driver for a hearing. After the hearing, the driver’s license could get suspended for up to 30 days.

The second tier is directed at drivers that are older than 21. They need to attend a hearing with the Drivers License Division if they receive more than 200 points in a three year period.

How To Get Help

If you have gotten a speeding ticket while driving in Utah, there are ways to challenge the charge. You can choose to fight the ticket in court. But, if you are interested in taking this route, it is best to discuss your situation with a lawyer. You can contact our office and we can put you in touch with a Utah motor vehicle violation attorney. Our firm has relationships with attorneys throughout the country. We can find the right person to help you. For more information, contact our office.

Submit your ticket & get it taken care of now!

You can take care of your ticket in minutes.

Quick Information Guide