If you happen to receive a ticket while driving in Texas, you face consequences per Texas’ law. There are fines and suspensions that can be a result of speeding, but it all depends on how much over the limit you were driving. Continue reading to learn about the two basic laws regarding speeding and the penalties for speeding in Texas. This information is especially important if you are an out of state driver and you are not familiar with Texas driving laws and speeding consequences.
Laws Regarding Speeding in Texas
Texas has a basic speeding law which prohibits driving “at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the circumstances then existing.” The “reasonable speed” could change depending on things like the time of day or the weather. As a result, it can be difficult to tell what the appropriate speed is given the weather and other road conditions. But, the state of Texas also uses “prima facie” speed limit laws. So, there is a chance that you can fight a ticket if a police officer claims that you were not driving an appropriate speed based on the road conditions.
As mentioned above, Texas also uses “prima facie speed limits.” This means that just because you go over the speed limit does not necessarily mean you are guilty. You can argue in court that your speed was safe given the road conditions. Here is a list of the prima facie speed limits in Texas:
- 15 miles per hour in an urban district alley
- 15 miles per hour on beaches or county roads adjacent to a beach
- 30 miles per hour on urban district streets
- 70 miles per hour on numbered highways outside urban districts
- 60 miles per hour on unnumbered highways outside urban districts
Penalties for Speeding in Texas
If you decide to plead to your speeding ticket, or you are found guilty by the court, you will have to pay fines. The fines vary depending on the location where you were driving when you received your ticket. The price of a speeding ticket usually ranges from $130 to $300.
Your speeding ticket could also turn into a reckless driving charge if you fit that definition. Reckless driving is a more serious charge than speeding and it could result in 30 days in jail or fines.
If you do end up getting a speeding charge on your driving history, this will result in points being added to your driving record. If you accumulate too many points, this could result in more fines and other issues.
How to Get Help
If you would like to fight your speeding ticket or learn more about your options, contact our office. We can put you in touch with a Texas based motor vehicle violations lawyer. They can review your options with you and help you make the best choice given your situation.