Registering a vehicle in Connecticut might seem like an overwhelming process. There are several documents to fill out and steps to consider. On this page, I will break down the process for you to make sure that it is as easy as possible. If you need further assistance, you can contact the DMV or our office.
Steps For Those New to Connecticut
If you need to register a vehicle in Connecticut because you are moving here from out-of-state, there are steps to follow. Keep in mind that you will have 90 days after you establish registry in the state to transfer the vehicle registration from your previous state. This timeline used to be 60 days, but the law changed in 2021.
The first thing that you want to do if registering a vehicle in Connecticut is to make sure that there aren’t any issues with the vehicle. This might include issues with insurance, car taxes, emissions issues, etc.
So long as there aren’t any issues, you can proceed. Make sure to gather the following documentation to register the vehicle:
- Proof of car insurance.
- Your personal identification.
- A fully completed application for registration.
- The bill of sale for the vehicle.
- Proof of ownership. You must obtain the title for your vehicle by contacting the leasing company or lien holder and asking them to mail the title for the vehicle to the Connecticut DMV headquarters in Wethersfield. Once you receive confirmation that the title document has reached the DMV, allow five business days before visiting a DMV branch to finalize your registration. If you don’t have access to the original title, you can request a temporary courtesy registration from the DMV. This will last for six months and will allow more time for you to procure the title.
- Payment for the DMV. This fee is generally $195, but if there is a lien on your vehicle, the fee is $205.
Another step that you need to complete is going to an emissions testing center to have the emissions of the vehicle checked. This is a requirement for all out-of-state vehicles, regardless of when your emissions was last tested. Keep in mind that there is $20 emissions testing fee.
Finally, you should make an appointment with the DMV to have your vehicle registered. Make sure that all of the steps above have been completed before you make your appointment so that you do not have to go back and forth.
Keep in mind that the process is a little different for vehicles that have a title in Connecticut or for vehicles that have liens on them.
Help With Your Registration
We understand that the vehicle registration process can be difficult, and there is nothing worse than going back and forth from the DMV with the incorrect information. If you are trying to get a vehicle registered and you have questions, feel free to reach out to our office. We will do our best to answer your questions and point you in the right direction. For additional help with a motor vehicle issue, contact us.